Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

wreck2 scubapic

Scuba diving can be an overwhelmingly beautiful and serene experience, or completely eerie depending on what you are diving into.

One of my eeriest dives was in Aruba where my buddy and I swam through a ship that had been hit by a torpedo (first photo). That same day, we ventured into a plane that crashed and sank to the ocean floor. The plane was still surprisingly in tact which made it even creepier. I swam through the emergency exit door and up into the cockpit, the whole time imagining the poor, terrified souls lost. That day I learned that you can in fact get chills 40 feet underwater, in a wet suit, in 80 degree water.

The second photo is from cave diving in Mexico. Fun, beautiful, and a little frightening at times! When you are swimming down into the depths of a cave in pitch black water, eerie is an understatement.

Weekly Photo Challenge

25 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie Tomb | Processing the life

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | Through the Eye of Bastet

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie (2) | Elämän katupeili

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | Processing the life

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | Elämän katupeili

  6. Pingback: Eerie, Eerier, Eeriest | this man's journey

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie (2) | Through the Eye of Bastet

  8. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | Razoraven Photography

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie « blogagaini

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie (1) | Through the Eye of Bastet

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | MythRider

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge : Eerie | Les Petits Pas de Juls

  13. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge / B4 Retouch: Eerie (Karnak Egypt) | What's (in) the picture?

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie … Roman Baths, Bath, England | Eyes to Heart

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Eerie | A mom's blog

  16. Pingback: WEEKLY PHOTO CHALLENGE: EERIE – WATCHES AND WAITS | SERENDIPITY

  17. These are very cool. I have to tell you, I could never do that. The thought of scuba diving is very frightening to me. I have a fear of deep water. And diving around sunken ships!!!!! I think I would have a heart attack! I admire you for doing that!

    • Thanks! I never thought I would be able to either, honestly. But once down there, something kind of takes over and you are so in awe of how beautiful it is, it’s hard to be scared. Granted, my first ocean dive ever was absolutely TERRIFYING. I think I probably sucked half my tank of air on the descent because I was hyperventilating so much. Just terrifying, haha! Now that it’s been awhile since I’ve been diving, I am more scared to jump back into it, but I hope I do again soon.

Leave a comment